TAL9000

34 notes

I can’t figure out how to drive. I feel like this makes me a worthless person. Any other non-driving aspies want to commiserate?

saneoldsameold:

lordcoitus:

metapianycist:

I’m autistic and can’t drive.

I did (somehow?) get my driver’s license five years ago, but driving in a car other than the kind that driving schools have (with a passenger-side brake pedal) makes me panic, I can’t hold onto the skills for how to drive for very long (so I haven’t driven in five years), and I can never look in all the places I’m supposed to look. :(

I can’t drive either. Too terrified to get my license even though I’m 18 in 2 weeks

I’m also 18 in about two weeks, also an aspie, and also pretty much incapable of driving. I’ve been trying on and off for two years and I plan to keep trying to see if I can get it, but I highly doubt I ever will.

I can do it (poorly) for only about 15 minutes before I become extremely fatigued as a result of sensory overload. Too many things to keep track of- gas pressure, mirrors, how to move the wheel. It’s overwhelming for me to say the absolute least.

omg yes me too. Driving is basically just sensory overload. My eyes hurt within a few minutes.

I never got my license pretty much because of that.

(via laundryandtaxes)

Filed under actuallyautistic autism driving

  1. thiliechristine-blog reblogged this from ladyannacrawley
  2. soilrockslove reblogged this from twocentsormore and added:
    When I was younger, I used a lot of caffeine to go past my limits of what I could actually do in a sustainable way. To...
  3. twocentsormore reblogged this from codeman38 and added:
    I don’t know if it’s useful, or how common this is, but I used to be able to drive a lot more than I can now. Nowadays,...
  4. codeman38 reblogged this from tal9000 and added:
    This is exactly what driving was like for me as well. I could manage to pull it off for…a few minutes. Though it was...
  5. adelened-blog reblogged this from ladyannacrawley
  6. tal9000 reblogged this from laundryandtaxes and added:
    omg yes me too. Driving is basically just sensory overload. My eyes hurt within a few minutes. I never got my license...
  7. metapianycist reblogged this from ladyannacrawley
  8. feliscorvus reblogged this from codeman38 and added:
    If it makes anyone feel any better, I’m 33 years old and driving does not seem to be anywhere on the horizon for me....
  9. ladyannacrawley posted this